skip navigation

EHL Frozen Finals at Providence College

By Neil Ravin - Director of PR & Social Media, 11/21/17, 9:00AM EST


2018 Champion Set to be Crowned at Schneider Arena

BOSTON, MA -- The Eastern Hockey League (EHL) is pleased to announce the site of this year's Frozen Finals. Now in its 5th season, the EHL will be featuring a brand new playoff format and it will all finish at Schneider Arena on the campus of Providence College.

"This is a huge announcement for our league," said Mark Kumpel, the EHL's Director of Hockey Operations. "Providence College has made some incredible renovations to Schneider Arena, and our teams will be blown away when they arrive. For the first time in our league's history, we will be crowning a champion at a neutral site. We're all looking forward to this year's Frozen Finals."

Below you'll find a breakdown of how 16 teams will become 4, and what it will take for each organization to punch their ticket to the Frozen Finals.


After all 16 EHL teams complete a 50-game regular season schedule, 3/4 of them will advance to postseason play.

This season, the winners of each of the four divisions will receive a First Round bye in the playoffs.

In the North Conference, the winners of the New England Division and the Boston Division will be seeded #1 and #2 based off of their total points in the regular season. The same criteria will be followed in the South Conference with the Central Division and the Mid-Atlantic Division champions.

In both conferences, four of the remaining six teams will earn spots into the playoffs. These teams will advance based off of a combined set of standings between the two divisions within each conference. Based off of points, they will be filled into seeds #3 through #6 in each conference.


With seeds #1 and #2 in each conference enjoying a First Round bye, seed #3 will play #6 and seed #4 will play #5. The first round is a best-of-three series with the home ice being determined by the EHL Operating Rules.


With four teams advancing out of the First Round, the remaining teams in each conference will be re-seeded #1 through #4. Seed #1 will then play #4, and seed #2 will play #3. The second round is a best-of-three series with the home ice being determined by the EHL Operating Rules.


After two weeks of playoff action, only four teams will remain, and therefore advance to the Frozen Finals. The two North Conference teams and the two South Conference teams will face-off in a three-day Round Robin, March 22nd through 24th. At the end of the Round Robin, the top 2 teams will advance to the EHL Championship scheduled for March 25th.